Tag Archives: News

Presenting PACNY’s 2020 Annual Preservation Awards!

The Preservation Association of Central New York is proud to invite you to its 2020 Annual Awards Ceremony! For the first time, our awards ceremony will be broadcast virtually via Zoom. Thanks to the generous support of our membership and sponsors, we are able to make our ceremony available free of charge!

The ceremony will include:

  • An update on our Eight That Can’t Wait challenged properties list;
  • The presentation of our 2020 Preservation Awards; and
  • A very special behind-the-scenes tour of the Seward House Museum in Auburn, NY!

To access the awards ceremony, please follow the steps below:

  1. Click on the following link and register for the ceremony (this is free and helps us track how many participants are attending): https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJYqd-ivpz4vHNHod8P2sXROMryfAGJMdXQk
  2. You will receive a confirmation email with details on how to join the ceremony on November 6th.
  3. Join us on November 6th at 6 p.m. for the ceremony!

Note: If you do not have video conferencing capability, you may also call in to the meeting and join us over the phone. A call-in number will be provided upon registration.

2019 PACNY Awards – Recipients

PACNY 2019 Award Recipients

The Preservation Association of Central New York (PACNY) is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Annual Preservation Awards:

Pat Earle Award: Madison County on behalf of the Madison County Courthouse Renovation Project, Wampsville, NY

Harley J. McKee Award: Norman Roth and University Hill Realty on behalf of the rehabilitation of the Morgan Dunne House, 464 Allen Street, Syracuse, NY

Paul Malo Award: Chris Geiger and Holmes, King, Kallquist and Associates on behalf of the Sylvester Apartments Project, 900 East Fayette Street, Syracuse, NY

Stewardship Award: Father Fred Mannara on behalf of the Most Holy Rosary Church, 111 Roberts Avenue, Syracuse, NY

Preservation Merit Award: The Seward House Museum, Cayuga Museum of History and Art, and the Harriet Tubman National Historical Park on behalf of the Hands on History educational programming, Auburn, NY

Preservation Merit Award: David Haas on behalf of his work for The Stand newspaper

Jasena R. Foley Award: Cleota Reed on behalf of her decades of advocacy work in historic preservation

CNY Heritage Award: The Onondaga Historical Association and Willow Rock Brewing Company on behalf of the relaunch of historic Congress Beer

The 2019 Awards will be presented at a formal ceremony with a reception to be held at 6 pm, Wednesday, October 23, 2019 at the May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society in Syracuse, NY. Tickets are $20 for members, and $25 for non-members and will be available at the door.

The awards ceremony will feature a presentation of PACNY’s 2019 list of challenged and threatened historic properties, The Eight That Can’t Wait. Click the tab at top to read about the 2019 additions to the list.