PACNY 2019 Awards Nominations Due August 23

The Preservation Association of Central New York (PACNY) is accepting nominations for its annual awards ceremony through Friday, August 23, 2019.

PACNY’s annual awards bring recognition to owners, builders, artisans, designers, educators, and activists who work to preserve Central New York’s most distinctive historic resources. Nominations are free and open to the public, and projects and individuals in PACNY’s five-county region (Madison, Onondaga, Oswego, Cortland, and Cayuga) are eligible.

The awards ceremony is 6 p.m. Wednesday, October 23, 2019, at May Memorial Unitarian Universalist Society, 3800 East Genesee St., Syracuse.

Nominations will be considered for the following awards:

  • The Jasena R. Foley Education Award is given to individuals or groups who educate, promote, engender or advocate a preservation ethic in CNY.
  • The Pat Earle Award is given for a singular outstanding historic preservation project which benefits the community.
  • The Harley J. McKee Award is given for excellence in the promotion and application of appropriate preservation technology and fine craftsmanship.
  • The Paul Malo Award is given for projects that juxtapose old and new, demonstrating respect for our past while promoting our community’s future.
  • The Preservation Merit Award is given in recognition of exceptional achievement in historic preservation.
  • Stewardship Awards are given to individuals, organizations, or civic agencies that have maintained exceptionally high standards of care for historic properties or landscapes.
  • The Wilma T. Auer Award honors volunteers who have made particularly outstanding contributions to PACNY.

See a list of our 2018 awardees.

All nominations will be reviewed by PACNY’s Awards Committee and approved by PACNY’s Board of Directors. Click here for the nomination form. Send completed nomination forms to 930 James St., Syracuse, NY 13203 or email (preferred). Tax-deductible contributions are welcome and will support this event.

The awards ceremony will feature the public announcement of PACNY’s 2019 list of threatened historic properties list, Eight That Can’t Wait, relaunched in 2018 after a 16-year hiatus.

PACNY was founded in 1974. The organization is dedicated to the preservation of the historic resources of Central New York that are essential to the cultural and economic well-being of the community.  PACNY works independently and in cooperation with other civic organizations and preservation groups to produce and disseminate information on the value of historic preservation throughout the CNY region.

Leave a Reply

Post Navigation