Presenting PACNY’s 2020 Annual Preservation Awards!

The Preservation Association of Central New York is proud to invite you to its 2020 Annual Awards Ceremony! For the first time, our awards ceremony will be broadcast virtually via Zoom. Thanks to the generous support of our membership and sponsors, we are able to make our ceremony available free of charge!

The ceremony will include:

  • An update on our Eight That Can’t Wait challenged properties list;
  • The presentation of our 2020 Preservation Awards; and
  • A very special behind-the-scenes tour of the Seward House Museum in Auburn, NY!

To access the awards ceremony, please follow the steps below:

  1. Click on the following link and register for the ceremony (this is free and helps us track how many participants are attending):
  2. You will receive a confirmation email with details on how to join the ceremony on November 6th.
  3. Join us on November 6th at 6 p.m. for the ceremony!

Note: If you do not have video conferencing capability, you may also call in to the meeting and join us over the phone. A call-in number will be provided upon registration.

PACNY 2020 Award Recipients

The Preservation Association of Central New York (PACNY) is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Annual Preservation Awards.

  • Schroeppel Historical Society for their outstanding rehabilitation of the 111-year old St. John’s Episcopal Church, now the Schroeppel Historical Society, in the village of Phoenix
  • Andrew Simkin, Esq., Bess Simkin, Paul Barron, and Rick Petrone for excellent rehabilitation work on the Phoenix Building in the city of Auburn
  • Betsy Kennedy on behalf of the Carriage Barn Books at the Cazenovia Public Library project in the village of Cazenovia
  • Cynthia Carrington-Carter in recognition of decades of service to preservation in central New York and beyond
  • The William G. Pomeroy Foundation for the wide-ranging impact of its historical marker program
  • Johnson-Schmidt Architects and Bev & Co. for the renovation of the Barber Block in the city of Cortland
  • The Town of Smithfield, Smithfield Community Association, and the National Abolition Hall of Fame and Museum for their year-long campaign celebrating the 200th anniversary of the Smithfield Community Center

Due to COVID-19, the awards will be presented during a free virtual, online ceremony to be held on November 6, 2020 at 6 p.m. Details regarding how to attend and participate will be forthcoming.

PACNY is Extending its Preservation Awards Nomination Period!

The Preservation Association of Central New York (PACNY) is extending the nomination period for its annual awards ceremony. The deadline for nominations is being extended to end on Friday, September 18, 2020 at 5 p.m. Awards will be announced Monday, October 5, 2020. 

Due to COVID-19, the 2020 Awards will be presented during a virtual, online ceremony to be held on November 6, 2020 at 6 p.m

Nomination forms can be found here!

Nominations remain free and open to the public, and projects and individuals in PACNY’s five-county region (Madison, Onondaga, Oswego, Cortland, and Cayuga) are eligible. PACNY’s annual awards bring recognition to owners, builders, artisans, designers, educators and activists who work to preserve Central New York’s most distinctive historic resources. 

All nominations will be reviewed by PACNY’s Awards Committee and approved by PACNY’s Board of Directors.

Send completed nomination forms to 930 James Street, Syracuse, NY 13203 or email (preferred). Tax-deductible contributions are welcome and will assist PACNY in putting on this spectacular event.